And its only fifty three and a half hours late!

January 3, 2012

It’s time to make some New Years resolutions!!!! What was that self? It is the third of January, so I’m a little late? And resolutions are much to vague and all or nothing to actually achieve? Well I’m getting tired of all your mouth self, so you best shut it before I break it. You say I’d have to hit myself to do that and “Surely I’m not that stupid?” Well I’ll show you!

[logged out due to inactivity]

Well, I was just released from the hospital, apparently I just broke three of my teeth, but hey, can’t let anyone talk down to you… Now where was I…. Oh right, resolutions… Let’s see, where to even begin? Be a better person? Where would I even begin? And what rubric would I be grading myself on?”Well, I only murdered 50 million people this year as opposed to the 100 million last year, so yeah, I’ve been a better person” doesn’t sound like a big improvement, but hey, at least I kept my resolution. So… let’s think of something else… I resolve to… You know what? Why even bother making a “resolution”? If I want to “be better person” I’ll just measure my responses, follow the golden rule, and be a descent human being. If I want to learn new things, I’ll go out and learn them. If I want to be healthier I’ll run a little more and eat a little less junk. I don’t need the arbitrary date of New Years to make a plan for how I want to change my life, I need to put my ass in gear and do it. So you know what? I resolve to live my life one day at a time. I’ll try to learn something I didn’t know the day before,  make the statement “the most in shape I have ever been” apply to each new day, approach each new situation with just a touch more wisdom and patience then the one before , and finally the biggie, simply make it through another year so I can start the process all over again.

One Response to “And its only fifty three and a half hours late!”

  1. Beth said

    NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS YOU CAN KEEP

    Are you sick of making the same resolutions year after year that you never
    keep? Why not promise to do something you can ACTUALLY accomplish?

    Here are some resolutions that you can use as a starting point:

    ~ Gain weight. At least 30 pounds.
    ~ Stop exercising. Waste of time.
    ~ Read less. Makes you think.
    ~ Watch more TV. I’ve been missing some good stuff.
    ~ Procrastinate more. Starting tomorrow.
    ~ Spend more time at work, surfing the web.
    ~ Take a vacation to someplace important, like to see the world’s largest
    ball of twine.
    ~ Don’t jump off a cliff just because everyone else did.
    ~ Stop bringing lunch from home–eat out more.
    ~ Don’t have eight children at once.
    ~ Get in a whole NEW rut!
    ~ Start being superstitious.
    ~ Personal goal: Don’t bring back disco.
    ~ Speak in a monotone voice and only use monosyllabic words.
    ~ Only wear jeans that are 2 sizes too small and use a chain or rope for a
    belt.
    ~ Spend my summer vacation in cyberspace.
    ~ Create loose ends.
    ~ Get more toys.
    ~ Get further in debt.
    ~ Don’t believe politicians.
    ~ Break at least one traffic law.
    ~ Don’t drive a motorized vehicle across thin ice.
    ~ Don’t swim with piranhas or sharks.
    ~ Spread out priorities beyond the ability to keep track of them.
    ~ Wait for opportunity to knock.
    ~ Focus on the faults of others.
    ~ Mope about faults.
    ~ Never make New Year’s resolutions again.

Leave a comment