Dawn of a new day

July 13, 2012

Memories; the seemingly distant recollections of another day, another time. Another me. Has only been a month since basic training? Only a year since LMU? Two since high school? They feel like the happened a lifetime ago. Two months at basic, 9 months at LMU, and four years of college. Two weeks in Boston and they already feel like they happened to someone else. I feel exactly the same and completely different.

Truth to tell, I don’t know how I feel. Being even more honest, I miss my past. I miss the college life, I miss those carefree days of high school. I miss the friends I counted as closer than family that now, I only text or see once a year. It seems like I’ve started the next chapter, but right now I’m wanting to reread the last one. Don’t get me wrong, I still think joining the coast guard was a good decision. I love what little I’ve seen of Boston, I just miss my past too. Will it always be like this? Two, three years down the road will I be blogging about how I miss my new city? So what? Will I blow  like dust in the wind for the next twenty years? I don’t know. But one thing is for certain, I won’t find out sitting here writing this blog.

Leave a comment